Comparison
Laser rangefinder vs GPS hybrid rangefinder
Published
Note: This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
In short
A pure laser gives an exact number to whatever you aim at, including the flag. A hybrid adds GPS distances to the front, middle and back of the green and sometimes hazards, which helps on blind shots and when the flag is hidden. The hybrid is usually larger and more expensive and needs charging; the laser alone is simpler and lighter.
MiLESEEY
Mileseey GenePro G1: rotating slope switch plus GPS
Check price on AmazonAffiliate linkVoice Caddie
Voice Caddie SL3: laser with GPS green mapping
Check price on AmazonAffiliate linkBushnell
Bushnell A1-Slope: smallest Bushnell, USB-C charge
Check price on AmazonAffiliate linkNikon
Nikon Coolshot 20 GIII: light, distance only
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
- Mileseey GenePro G1: rotating slope switch plus GPS
- Range
- 600 yards to a flag
- Magnification
- 6x
- Flag lock
- Flag lock with vibration
- Weight
- 345 g
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - Voice Caddie SL3: laser with GPS green mapping
- Range
- Up to 800 yards
- Magnification
- Not stated
- Flag lock
- Pin tracing with vibration
- Weight
- 226 g
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - Bushnell A1-Slope: smallest Bushnell, USB-C charge
- Range
- 5-1,300 yards
- Magnification
- 6x
- Flag lock
- PinSeeker with JOLT
- Weight
- 144 g
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link - Nikon Coolshot 20 GIII: light, distance only
- Range
- 5-730 m
- Magnification
- 6x
- Flag lock
- First Target Priority
- Weight
- 130 g
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
| Product | Range | Magnification | Flag lock | Weight | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mileseey GenePro G1: rotating slope switch plus GPS | 600 yards to a flag | 6x | Flag lock with vibration | 345 g | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Voice Caddie SL3: laser with GPS green mapping | Up to 800 yards | Not stated | Pin tracing with vibration | 226 g | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Bushnell A1-Slope: smallest Bushnell, USB-C charge | 5-1,300 yards | 6x | PinSeeker with JOLT | 144 g | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
| Nikon Coolshot 20 GIII: light, distance only | 5-730 m | 6x | First Target Priority | 130 g | Check price on AmazonAffiliate link |
Details as stated in the Amazon listing or by the manufacturer. See the current price on Amazon.
Our verdict
Most golfers who know their course and can see the flag are well served by a compact laser such as the Bushnell A1-Slope or Nikon Coolshot 20 GIII. Choose a hybrid such as the Mileseey GenePro G1 or Voice Caddie SL3 if you play unfamiliar or blind courses and do not want to carry a separate GPS device.
For years golfers had to choose between a laser rangefinder and a GPS device, or carry both. Hybrid rangefinders put GPS inside the laser, so one unit can give an exact flag distance and the front and back of the green. That sounds like the best of both, but the extra hardware has costs too. This comparison sets out when a hybrid helps, when a simple laser is better, and lines up four models from our guides using their listing facts.
What a hybrid adds
A pure laser measures only what you point it at. On a blind approach, a dogleg or a green behind a mound, there may be nothing useful to aim at. A hybrid uses its GPS to show the distance to the front, middle and back of the green regardless of what you can see, and some models show hazards or a small green map. Some, like the Voice Caddie SL3, also offer green undulation views.
For the flag itself, both use the laser. The GPS numbers are for the green and layout, not for the pin position, which changes daily.
What it costs you
Adding GPS means a bigger battery, a screen in some cases and course data. Hybrids tend to be larger and heavier than compact lasers and they usually need regular charging. They also carry more features to set up, such as course updates and display modes. A compact laser such as the Bushnell A1-Slope or Nikon Coolshot 20 GIII is small enough for a pocket.
| Model | Type | Key features | Power |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mileseey GenePro G1 | Laser plus GPS | 43,000+ courses, 2.13 inch AMOLED touchscreen, rotating slope switch | Rechargeable, USB-C |
| Voice Caddie SL3 | Laser plus GPS | Green mapping, dual colour OLED, pin tracing | Rechargeable |
| Bushnell A1-Slope | Laser only | Slope on and off, Pinseeker with JOLT, 350+ yd to a flag | USB-C, 3,000+ acquisitions per charge |
| Nikon Coolshot 20 GIII | Laser only | 6x, First Target Priority, compact | Battery |
Blind shots and unfamiliar courses
A hybrid earns its place on courses you do not know, on hilly or wooded layouts with blind approaches and on holes where the front edge matters more than the flag. On your home course, where you know the layout and can usually see the flag, a laser alone may be all you use.
If you already wear a GPS watch, you already have front, middle and back numbers. In that case a pure laser plus the watch covers the same ground, as explained in golf GPS watch vs rangefinder.
Rules for hybrids
Under Rule 4.3 of the Rules of Golf, published by The R&A, devices may be used for distance and direction unless a Local Rule bans them. Both laser and GPS distances are allowed. Slope and plays like features must not be used in a competition round, so look for a clear external switch or indicator. The G1 listing describes a rotating tournament legal switch; the A1-Slope switches slope through the mode button. See are golf rangefinders legal for the detail.
Green undulation maps raise a separate question, because the Rules limit green reading materials. If you play competitions, check how the maker says the feature should be used and turn off anything you are unsure about.
Battery, charging and care
A pure laser often runs for many rounds on one battery or charge because it only fires when you press the button. The A1-Slope listing quotes over 3,000 target acquisitions per charge, around 40 rounds. A hybrid keeps its GPS running through the round and may power a bright screen, so it needs charging far more often, often after every round or two. Forget to charge it and you may lose both the GPS and the laser.
Hybrids also need course data kept current. Many update through an app or a computer link, and new or redesigned courses may need an update before you play them. A laser needs nothing beyond a clean lens, as covered in how to clean a golf rangefinder.
Which to choose
Choose a compact laser if you mainly want the flag distance, play courses you know, and prefer a small, light device. Choose a hybrid if you often play new or blind courses, do not own a GPS watch and want one device for both jobs. Our best golf rangefinders and best rangefinders with slope guides include both types.
- Home course, can see the flag: laser.
- Already wear a GPS watch: laser.
- New and blind courses, no watch: hybrid.
- Want the lightest kit: laser.
Frequently asked questions
Is a hybrid rangefinder more accurate? Not to the flag; both use a laser for that. The hybrid adds GPS green distances, which are as good as the course map.
Do hybrids need a subscription? Many do not. The GenePro G1 listing states no subscription; check each model.
Is a hybrid legal in competitions? Yes for distance, unless a Local Rule bans devices. Slope must be switched off.
What you need
- Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
Shot Scope Pro L5: 7x zoom, OLED, cart magnet
From: Best golf rangefinders
- Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
Bushnell Tour V6 Shift: external slope switch